Kit Preview 15/16

Another year, another set of kits. For this year’s edition, I executed a two prong attack—a podcast looking at EPL kits and a few others from around the world, and my usual post grabbing strips for the upcoming season and commenting on them. This is by no means comprehensive and I am looking forward to suggestions and comments from readers. Here we go.

Let’s start in South America. This is a region of the soccer world that I know very little about in terms of history and kit design. Think I might recognize Vasco shirt and of course the iconic Santos home shirt.

This shirt from Nike for Coritiba jumped out at me. With the crest centered in the chest, it reminded me of the US shirts of mid-90’s, plus it has a nice, rich green.

coritiba-2015-nike-home-kit-6

(Courtesy Football Fashion)

Another manufacturer that went with the centered crest and horizontal bands was Under Armour for Sao Paolo. Not sure about the collar but the rest looks good.

sao-paulo-fc-2015-under-armour-jersey-8

(Courtesy Football Fashion)

The Scottish Premier League is another league I don’t follow that much, but I came across these kits when reviewing shirts for the upcoming season. The home shirt of Hearts really caught my attention, with a rich maroon and classy v neck collar, proving that once in a while, Puma gets it right. Love the fact that the away strip is just a reverse of the home kit.

hearts-fc-2015-2016-puma-kit-1

(Courtesy Football Fashion)

Then there’s this. WTF? What’s worse? The shirts and shorts or the player’s haircut? I await your comments.

seoul-e-land-2015-kit-8

(Courtesy Football Fashion)

My favorite SEC team is the Florida Gators and now I can support them with this smart shirt with a vivid orange trimming a rich, deep blue. . . said nobody ever. This is one of the first shirts I saw for the upcoming season and I couldn’t believe it. I need a Dutch footy fan to explain this one to me. The shirt isn’t too bad but I don’t associate this color scheme with Feyenoord and the crest really clashes with the design.

feyenoord-2015-2016-away-kit-10

(Courtesy Football Fashion)

The FCB Centenary shirt is one of my favorite shirts of all time and this shirt for FC Basel has similar elements but for some reason doesn’t work for me. Maybe it’s the black. Maybe it’s the black rib panels. Maybe it’s the hem around the waist. Something is not quite clicking.

basel-15-16-kit-2

(Courtesy Footy Headlines)

German kits for the most part look pretty good for the upcoming season. The set from Hertha Berlin was quite sharp, with a simple vertical blue/white strip with red trim for the home shirt, a navy blue shirt with the blue accents for the away, and a bold red shirt for the third strip.

hertha-bsc-berlin-15-16-home-kit (1)

(Courtesy Footy Headlines)

I also came across the set for Augsburg, where Nike took the narrow pin striping down one side of the jersey and added it to modern shirts.

fc-augsburg-15-16-kits

(Courtesy Footy Headlines)

Over in France, Nike produced a stunning set for PSG. I absolutely love the two tone home jersey, using a dark navy blue for the shoulders and shorts and socks, which goes well with the slightly lighter navy blue body of the shirt. The iconic red vertical strip is narrower than I can remember and creates a wonderful shirt. The all white away strip is quite nice as well as the all black third.

PSG-15-16-Home-Kit (1)

(Courtesy Footy Headlines)

Finally, I love this shirt for Galatasaray. The black shirt, which is a great starting point, has a simple ring collar, no ridiculous bands on the sleeves and is accented with the club colors along the rib and under the arms. The pinstripes are the final touch and make for a fantastic shirt. I give Nike shit all the time but they got this one totally right.

Nike-Galatasaray-15-16-Kit (5)

(Courtesy Footy Headlines)

So those are the ones that caught my eye. If you want to see more, I encourage you to visit the following sites. . .

Football Fashion

Football Kit News

Football Shirt Culture

Footy Headlines

Quality posts, great pictures and a wide selection on offer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

