Old Futbol Buffet–Burnt to a Crisp

Saturday was filled with soccer. And fellowship and a couple of adult beverages and a nice sunburn on my face and arms. My day kicked off with twitter blowing up due to Mane’s record setting hat trick. Thanks to the wonder of the interwebs, I was able to watch all three goals and move on with my life.

I headed to Silverbacks Park for the Atlanta Silverbacks Reserves game against Chattanooga FC. I am the Operations Manager for the team and am excited for this opportunity and for the season ahead. The squad is filled with youth and experience and their first competitive 90 minutes showed glimpses of what is to come.

game day

(Pic courtesy of Chattanooga FC)

Granted I didn’t get to see the whole match due to my duties, but here were my impressions of the visitors’ 1-0 victory. Chattanooga is good. Solid defensively and blessed with a wonderful winger in Jose Ferraz. This was their third game as they had a league match and US Open Cup game under their belts, and their cohesiveness was noticeable. Fatigue looked to be setting in during the first half on a hot afternoon, and I thought the Reserves would be able to take advantage of this. However Chattanooga came out strong in the second half, and it was a balanced affair with chances for both teams. Late in the match Ferraz got free on the right wing and fired in a cross.  The initial save was made by Xavier Audergon but Chrispin Ochieng fired in the rebound.

game shot

(Pic courtesy of 10Soccer.com)

The Reserves changed to more of an attacking 4-3-3 in the second and lack a #9 right now, but Milthon Duarte did some nice things up top and on the left side of midfield. The team travels to Knoxville next weekend.

tailgate jax armada

(Pic courtesy of Laraina Michelle Photography)

After the match I head to the Terminus Legion tailgate. With members of SoccerFest and DragonGoal in attendance, there was a lot going on. Right before the match members of Jacksonville Armada Supporters Group Section 904 came down for a beverage and I was able to talk to several of them about the new team.

w17276_jacksonville-armada-fc-replica-jersey_nvy_detail

First of all, I love their jerseys. They wore an all-white strip in the match against the Silverbacks but the club’s home strip is predominantly navy blue with a wide white band across the chest. Their club badge is attractive as well with a two tone background behind an artistically designed anchor.

jax badge

In speaking with the fans on site, they can’t believe how well the team is doing.  The side attacks and is fun to watch. I was curious about the team’s future and asked if their ownership group has a plan. Yes, ownership’s goal is MLS, which led to a conversation about a recent post on my blog.

Game time approached and both supporters groups got their marches ready. I stayed behind to help tear down the tailgate and missed the first goal from Hans Denissen. I ended up watching most of the game from the parking lot, cleaning up, chatting, and rehydrating myself and my son, who was with me the whole day. All in all a great day.

Would love to hear your thoughts on the Silverbacks game, so let me know in the comments below.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

