Strip Club–Popping the Cherry Edition

 

My Strip Club posts are the result of what I saw other people doing on the web.  There was Fuse at AvoidingtheDrop.com who started a feature in which he went back and talked about old shirts/jerseys (kits or strips for the uninformed) he had purchased and assorted memories of those teams and moments in time. Jacob did the same thing at UnprofessionalFoul.com (The Good, The Bad, The WTF) for a time. I loved these ideas, and thought I would do the same.

I’m pretty sure the first jersey I ever purchased was the Juventus home kit for the 95-97 seasons:

The jersey is beautiful in its simplicity: simple black and white lines and a sponsor logo that is not overpowering. The club did something unique for a while, in that the club crest was either not visible or barely visible in this case, with the crest at the base of the collar, and this continued until the 99/00 season. Presumably it was left out because the Bianconeri were winning the Scudetto every year and were honored with the shield. (Suck it AC Milan and Inter!)

As for my history with Juventus, I fell in love with them because of Roberto Baggio. He was my favorite player of USA 94 and when I found out he was on this team from Italy, I started following the Black and Whites. He was transferred to AC Milan after the 94-95 season, but I heard about this young player named Del Piero, so I stayed with the Bianconeri.

I watched almost every match during their dramatic run to the 1996 European Final (I missed a lot of my college classes), which culminated with a win over Ajax, and I was hooked. Ravanelli scored the opening goal from almost no angle and then Jugovic struck the winning penalty in the shootout on an amazing night. I was working for the government in Birmingham, AL during that summer and had a little extra cash, so I splurged for the jersey of the European Club Champions.

The jersey has held up amazingly well and is fantastic to wear–light, sharp and iconic.  Yes people mistake me for a ref at times, but that’s fine. Education is a constant process. I only wish I was good as the players who wore during an amazing time at the club.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

