Strip Club–Bed Dance Edition

adp

I settled.  There I said it.  I’ve settled a lot in my life but that’s between me and my therapist.  I got a 20% off code from Retro World Football Shirts via twitter, and I’m a sucker, so I went on the website, wasted a couple of hours over the course of a week and bought the Juventus third kit from 1997-98.  To be honest, the 1995-1996 away kit is my favorite, but the site didn’t have that one in my size so I got as close as I could, thus the comment regarding settling.

The margins between good and great are so fine, as was shown for the Black and Whites during the 1997-98 campaign.  Juve won their 25th Scudetto, finishing clear of Inter and Udinese, while in the Coppa Italia, the Bianconeri fell at the semi-final stage.  Their involvement in the Champions League went right to the end for the third season running.

Zidane_vs_Shevchenko

The Group Stage was very competitive, with Feyenoord pushing them right to the end.  I remember Del Piero’s opener against United at Old Trafford just seconds into the game (what a start!)  in the Red Devil’s 3-2 win.  The knockout stages saw two comprehensive performances—4-1 in Kiev (quarters) and 4-1 against Monaco in Turin (semis).

The Old Lady met Real Madrid in the Final in Amsterdam, with Los Merengues going for their first European crown since 1966, while Juve were playing in their third straight final.  Found it amazing to see how many of the players on the pitch went to the World Cup and had a great tournament—Zindane, Deschamps, Davids, Suker, Roberto Carlos, Karembeu.

juve 98 final

In another instance of my footy viewing going sideways, the cable at my parents’ house in Alabama went out during the match, so I had to call my best friend in Michigan and get updates via phone.  The long distance bill was quite high that month.  Remember long distance bills?  Anyway, here are the highlights of Madrid’s 1-0 victory, with Mijatovic scoring the goal after an initial save and Ferrara’s slip.  If that doesn’t happen or if Davids had equalized at athe end, maybe Juve would have won on PK’s again.  This match saw the end of a great cycle as Juve faded for a couple of years before the transfers of Buffon, Thurham, Nedved and Trezeguet reshaped the team.

juve

The jersey manufactured by Kappa is super light, with vented panels running down the sides and an elastic collar that doesn’t bug me.  Plus, the jersey I purchased has the scudetto shield sewn on, which is a nice touch.  Because the jersey is used, there are a couple of pulls and maybe a stain or two, but no matter.  I love the royal blue color with the stars on the shoulders and yellow highlights.  I’m still trying to track down the shorts.  Right now I wear it with white shorts, which looks ok but not the same as the all blue kit.

The run of away kits in the late 90’s was fantastic, and then Lotto took over and it got a little ugly.  Once NIKE came on board, things got a little better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

